Sign Up for Our E-News!

Join over 18,000 other roofers who get the Week in Roofing for a recap of this week's best industry posts!

Sign Up
RCS - Sidebar - L&L contest
Polyglass-ClubPremio-Sidebar (2)
USG - Sidebar - Impact
R-Club Safety Training - Fall Protection - Sidebar
NERCA - Annual Convention and Trade Show - Side Ad
SPFA - Sidebar Ad - SprayFoam 2024_01_10_2024
RoofersCoffeeShop - Where The Industry Meets!

2023 Most Valuable Player (MVP) Award Finalists & Honorable Mentions Announced

Roofing Alliance MVP award 2022
January 10, 2023 at 3:00 p.m.

Six outstanding roofing professionals compete for Best of the Best Recognition. 

The Roofing Alliance proudly announces the 2022-23 Most Valuable Player (MVP) Awards finalists and honorable mention recipients. The winners for Outstanding Performance and Leadership, Outstanding Community Involvement and the recipient of Professional Roofing's Best of the Best, a recognition co-sponsored by OMG Roofing Products and Professional Roofing magazine, will be announced during the NRCA’s Awards Ceremony on March 8, 2023, at the International Roofing Expo in Dallas, Texas.

Through the MVP Award program, the Roofing Alliance honors leadership in the field. Roofing contractors nominate field roofing workers, foremen or superintendents. Distributors and supplier firms nominate warehouse employees, warehouse foremen, drivers or equipment operators. Individuals can be nominated for their outstanding performance and leadership or outstanding community involvement. Since the program’s inception 20 years ago, 738 employees have been nominated and 279 winners and finalists have been recognized. 

The 2023 MVP Award Finalists include:

  • Rick Amellin, machine operator, OMG Inc., Agawam, Massachusetts
  • Shane Day, superintendent, The Durable Slate Company, Columbus, Ohio
  • Christopher Knott, field worker, East Coast Roofing, Siding & Windows, Mayas Landing, New Jersey
  • Ken Roderick, superintendent, United Roofing Group Inc., Anchorage, Alaska
  • Oscar Salas, superintendent, KPost Roofing & Waterproofing, Dallas, Texas 
  • Terry Tilsen, superintendent, Advanced Roofing Inc., Fort Lauderdale, Florida

The 2023 MVP Honorable Mention Recipients include:

  • John Biondi, driver, Beacon Building Products, Toronto
  • John Gustavel, superintendent, Bone Dry Roofing Co., A Roofing Corp of America Company, Bogart, Georgia
  • Daniel Lopez Negrete, superintendent, D.C. Taylor Co., Concord, California
  • Mark McKinney, superintendent, CFE Inc., Apex, North Carolina
  • Sean Willis, foreman, L.E. Schwartz & Son Inc., Macon, Georgia

Previous Best of the Best Award winners include:

  • 2008: Rodney Griffith, foreman, Centimark Corp., Pelham, Alabama, and Teri Stallion, field superintendent, Innovative Roofing Group, Atlanta, Georgia.
  • 2009: Eugena Madeley, yard/receiving/truck driver, Gooding, Simpson & Mackes Inc., Ephrata, Pennsylvania.
  • 2010: Richard Heilinger, service specialist, Gooding, Simpson & Mackes Inc., Ephrata, Pennsylvania.
  • 2011: George Denton, superintendent, Supreme Roofing Systems Inc., Dallas, Texas.
  • 2012: David Baytosh, superintendent, Advanced Roofing Inc., Fort Lauderdale, Florida.
  • 2013: Dan Pastore, superintendent, Upstate Roofing and Painting Inc., Rochester, New York.
  • 2014: Ryan Watts, foreman, Jurin Roofing Services Inc., Quakertown, Pennsylvania.
  • 2015: Scott Luck, foreman, CentiMark Corp., Canonsburg, Pennsylvania.
  • 2016: Curtis Purvis, superintendent, Chamberlin Roofing & Waterproofing, Farmers Branch, Texas.
  • 2017: Narcisco Alarcon, superintendent, Antis Roofing and Waterproofing, Irvine, California.
  • 2018: Alan Baird, foreman, Core Contractors Inc., Denver, Colorado.
  • 2019: Brandon Reese, foreman, Korellis Roofing, Hammond, Indiana.
  • 2020: Todd Dunlap, superintendent, warehouse foreman and equipment operator, Frost Roofing Inc., Wapakoneta, Ohio.
  • 2021: Arturo Lopez, foreman with Stiles Roofing Inc., Lebanon, Missouri. 
  • 2022: Dennis Dudek, superintendent with Tecta America Southeast LLC, Sanford, Florida. 

For more information about the Roofing Alliance or the Most Valuable Player Awards, please contact Alison L. LaValley, CAE at alavalley@nrca.net or visit roofingalliance.net

About the Roofing Alliance 

The Roofing Alliance is committed to shaping the industry’s future by funding education, research, scholarships and philanthropic initiatives—all for the purpose of securing the industry’s future excellence.  Composed of 186 members representing extraordinary leaders from the contracting, manufacturing, distribution and service provider communities, the Roofing Alliance has committed $14 million to enhance the performance and long-term viability of the industry and allocated more than $5.9 million to fund 53 research, education, technical and philanthropic programs and projects.  Serving as the foundation of the National Roofing Contractors Association (NRCA), Roofing Alliance members are focused on giving back and supporting high-quality educational programs and ensuring timely and forward-thinking industry responses to major economic and technological issues.  For more information about Roofing Alliance initiatives, visit roofingalliance.net.       

Recommended For You


There are currently no comments here.

Leave a Reply

Commenting is only accessible to RCS users.

Have an account? Login to leave a comment!

Sign In
Johns Manville -CC-Season5-BlackHistory-Banner Ad

Sign Up for Our E-News!

Join over 18,000 other roofers who get the Week in Roofing for a recap of this week's best industry posts!

Sign Up
SPFA - Sidebar Ad - SprayFoam 2024_01_10_2024
Polyglass-ClubPremio-Sidebar (2)
DaVinci - Sidebar Ad - New Choice For Traditional Beauty
Owens Corning - Sidebar Ad - Growth for Your Whole Business
NFBA - Sidebar Ad - Accredited Builder
Equipter - Sidebar Ad - Drive. Lift. Dump. Repeat.

Is RCS in your language?

RCS Logo 2